Home  :  Holidays & Events  :  Cinco De Mayo  :  Cinco De Mayo History

Cinco De Mayo History

Cinco de Mayo or the fifth of May in Spanish is celebrated to mark the victory of the Mexican military force over the French Army at The Battle Of Puebla on May 5th, 1862. It is mainly a regional holiday celebrated in the Mexican state capital city of Puebla. It is also celebrated in the USA. People often think that Cinco de Mayo is the Mexican Independence Day which is actually on September 16th.

The Battle initiated for the repayment of debts. After Mexico gained independence from the Spain in 1821 after a bloody battle the country became economically unstable. During this time, Mexico incurred heavy debts from different countries like Spain, England and France. After a settlement was made, the English as well as the Spanish troops set sail towards home. But France, which under the commander of Napoleon III attacked the Mexican Port trying to occupy Mexico. As the French militia started to invade the country they were defeated by a small troop of Mexican army near Puebla. This made the Battle memorable among the Mexicans with an underlying sense of unity. Thus, Cinco de Mayo came into being.